Discussion (p. 362) - overview

See task 3 on page 362.

The Scottish Parliament (Gaelic: Pàrlamaid na h-Alba) at Holyrood, Edinburgh
Number of seats: 129 MSPs (members of the Scottish Parliament) + 2 non-elected Law Officers
Voting system: Proportional representation
Power to decide on: agriculture, fisheries and forestry, education, environment, food standards, health, Scots law, police and fire services, local government, sport and the arts, tourism, research and social work. May adjust income tax. 

Composition of  current Scottish Parliament (2011):

  • Scottish National Party (64)
  • Scottish Labour Party (38)
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party (15)
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats (5)
  • Scottish Green Party (2)
  • Independent (3)
  • No party affiliation (1)

The Welsh Assembly (Welsh: Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru) at the Senedd, Cardiff.
Number of seats: 60 of which 40 represent constituencies and 20 regions.
Voting system: Proportional representation
Power to decide on: agriculture, fisheries, forestry, rural development, culture, education, health, housing, local government, social welfare, sport, tourism, Welsh language. May not adjust income tax.

Composition of current Welsh Assembly (2011):

  • Welsh Labour Party (30)
  • Plaid Cymru (11)
  • Welsh Conservative Party (14)
  • Welsh Liberal Democrats (5)


Stormont, Belfast - The site of the Northern Ireland Assembly Stormont, Belfast - The site of the Northern Ireland Assembly
The Northern Ireland Assembly (Irish: Tionól Thuaisceart Éireann, Ulster Scots: Norlin Airlann Semmlie) at Stormont, Belfast
Number of seats: 108 MLAs (Members of the Legislative Assembly)
Voting system: Proportional representation
Power to decide on: education, health, agriculture, enterprise, environment, regional development, employment, finance, social development, culture.

Composition of current Northern Ireland Assembly (2011):

  • Democratic Unionist (38)
  • Sinn Fein (29)
  • Ulster Unionist (16)
  • Social Democratic and Labour Party (14)
  • Alliance (8)
  • Green (1)
  • Independent (1)

(William Hay was elected as Speaker, and so is not counted as a member of the Democratic Unionist parliamentary party.)